Skip to main content

Nursing & Health Services Research Guide: Databases & Journals

Got Access?

Access to the articles in OneSearch and the databases requires login off campus with your 14-digit barcode number printed on front of your ID card.

No FSU ID card? You can also obtain your barcode number from your PAWS account: Go to Self-Service, click on Student Center, and scroll down to Other Areas to obtain your library barcode information.

Access or Library Account Questions? Call the Ort Library Circulation Desk at
301-687-4395.

Search Google Scholar!

To unleash the full power of Google Scholar off campus to search for research articles and patents, go into Google Scholar settings and search for Frostburg State University as library link to select. Then you can search all the library databases using the familiar Google interface! 

You will need to log in with your barcode ID to access the full text articles linked in the right margin of the Scholar search results page.

Databases for Nursing & Health Services

Databases available via A-Z Databases. Login required to access  databases off campus.

How To Read a Scholarly Peer-reviewed Article

In the course of your nursing research, you will refer to scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. The PDF  handout linked below can help you understand the components of peer-reviewed research articles and determine if they are relevant to you research needs.

PubMed Alerts

PubMed Alerts - use this link to access a tutorial on how to set up an automatic alert service to receive updated search results on a regular basis on topics of interest.  It's a free, current awareness feature that runs saved searches on the most current  Health Sciences journal literature and emails the results to users. 

E-Journals

The library has access to thousands of online journals that you access though our research databases. You can browse  online journals that the Library subscribes to using the Journals tab in Research Port (your library login required). Here you can search by words in the title or by category.

This journal search feature offers detailed information for all our online periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers).  It indicates if the periodical is available online, what database it is found it and states the years of coverage.