Skip to main content

Government Documents : Maps

The Lewis J Ort library is a selective Federal Depository Library and also collects 100% of Maryland state documents.

Print Resources from the Library Map Collection

Large collection of 7.5' (1:24,000) USGS quadrangle maps including all quadrangles for MD, PA, WV, VA, NY and others.

Smaller collection of 1:50,000, 1:62,500, 1:100,000, and 1:250,000 USGS maps for the Mid Atlantic region.

Large collection of international maps, folded state road maps, and city street maps.

Finding Maps

Most maps do circulate. Tubes are supplied at the circulation desk for circulating maps.

For USGS maps, use the state map indexes on floor two or search the Geographic Names Information System and locate the area you are interested in then check the Map Case Label Key (white binder located on top of the map cases) to find which case your map is located in.

Use OneSearch or the library catalog and do a keyword search on the geographic area you are interested in. Look for MAP tag in catalog record. Write down the call number.

Use the Map Case Label Key (white binder located on top of map cases) to find the map's location. This key includes a listing of the all cases and file cabinets that house maps.

If you cannot find what you are looking for, please see a Reference Librarian for help.

Non-Government Map Collections

Helpful Web Sites

USGS Topographic Maps

While the library maintains an extensive collection of  US Geological Survey topographic maps, newer maps are only available in electronic format.

The newer maps can be viewed and downloaded from the US Topo section of the USGS National Map web site.

Map Creation Web Sites & Software