This is the "General/Art History" page of the "Web Resources: Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Web Resources: Arts  

Guide to finding resources relating to the arts online.
Last Updated: Dec 12, 2011 URL: http://libguides.frostburg.edu/webart Print Guide RSS Updates

General/Art History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

An Amused Reader

An Amused Reader. John Beaufain Irving. 1876. Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute.

 

Evaluate Web Sources!

Currency

Reliability

Authority

Purpose and Point of view

More information on the CRAP test

Evaluating Websites

Images

Images
by Sean Henry - Last Updated Jan 11, 2012
Resources for finding images on the web.
33 views this year
 

General Resources

AskART
Focus on American artists from the early 16th-Century through the present; searchable by artist name.  Note: Some services on this site are fee-based.

Smarthistory.org
High-quality images, videos and essays written by art historians on artists, time periods, themes and styles.

Art History Resources on the Web
The most comprehensive directory of art and art history resources on the Web; browsable by broad categories: prehistoric art, ancient art, art of the middle ages, renaissance art, baroque, 18th-century art, 19th-century art, 20th-century art, non-European art, research resources, museums & galleries, and prints & photographs; maintained by Chris Witcombe, Sweet Briar College.

The Art History Research Centre
Access to newsgroups, mailing lists, library catalogs, article indexes, online collections, art history & arts web servers, and links. There is also a short essay entitled "The Internet as a Research Medium for Art Historians;" from Concordia University, Canada

Artsource
A highly selective clearinghouse for resources on art and architecture compiled by librarians, artists, and historians; links to many art sources around the web.

Artnet Library
Thousands of articles from Grove Dictionary of Art on artist's biographies, materials and techniques, and styles and movements

Researching Your Art Object 
Excellent source for annotated bibliographies on art research methods, historiography, and general art reference books. This site will provide you with lists of best books to consult as you develop a research topic and gather information to write your research paper.

ART-Guide: Collection of Art History Websites
Provides access to art history websites, such as subject gateways, image databases, search engines, or mailing lists. The collection covers the full range of European medieval, modern, and contemporary art history, and Aesthetics; frequently updated

Metropolitan Museum of Art: Timeline of Art History
Chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

Mother of All Art and Art History Pages
Links to a wide variety of art and art history resources including art history departments, research resources, and online exhibitions; maintained by the University of Michigan School of Art & Design.

Voice of the Shuttle
Explore sections on Art HistoryArt (Modern and Contemporary)ArchitectureArchaeology, and Photography

 

Google Images

Google Images is a powerful and expansive image search engine. Use the advanced search option to limit by content type (line drawings, photographs, faces, etc); file size for higher quality images; and usage type (creative commons, etc).

Googe Image Swirl is a different way of displaying your search results.  It "organizes image search results based on their visual and semantic similarities" and "combines a variety of image similarity features with additional metadata about the images to build a hierarchy of clusters of image search results." Here's an example of what this looks like using the query "Warhol." Explore this tool to enhance your image searching!

My Profile

Profile Image
Theresa Mastrodonato
Contact Info
Reference Librarian, Coordinator of Library Instruction for First Year Students
Lewis J. Ort Library
1 Susan Eisel Drive
Library Office: Room 318
Frostburg State University
Frostburg, MD 21532
301-687-4425
Send Email
 

Provenance Research

The Getty Provenance Index allows you to conduct provenance research for western European works of art from the late sixteenth to the early twentieth. Originally designed as research tool for the ownership history of individual masterpieces, the index also allows scholars to model complex market developments, social networks, and cultural transfers.

Looking for a new artist?

Contemporary Artists Index (CAI)
Indexes contemporary artists and group exhibitions.
Do a TITLE search in CatalogUSMAI  to obtain books listed in the CAI.

Free E-Journals--Arts

Directory of Open Access Journals | Arts
A list of scholarly e-journals in the arts.

JURN
2,300 links to selected arts & humanities ejournals.  Journals listed are either free, or offer significant free content.

Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide
A journal of nineteenth-century visual culture.

ArtThrob
Contemporary art in South Africa

Crossings
Electronic journal of art and technology

Invisible Culture: An Electronic Journal for Visual Culture  
From the University of Rochester

From the University of Pittsburgh

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip