This is the "E-Book Acquisitions FAQ" page of the "E-Book Acquisitions Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-Book Acquisitions Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)   Tags: e-books, faq, library acquisitions  

A brief list of frequently asked questions (and answers!) pertaining to the availability and purchase of e-books for the Ort Library's collection.
Last Updated: May 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.frostburg.edu/ebookfaq Print Guide RSS Updates
E-Book Acquisitions FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ort Library Acquisitions

Acquisitions Department Information:

Location: 3rd Floor of the Ort Library

Phone: 301-687-4313

E-mail: fsuacq@frostburg.edu

Click here for:
Library Materials Order Form

 

Search for E-Books

E-Book Search
 

E-Book Acquisitions Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is an e-book?

    An e-book (or, “electronic book”) is a digital form of a book that is accessible and read using computers or comparable electronic devices, such as an e-book reader.  E-books are published in various formats, such as portable document format (PDF) or EPUB; various publishers and vendors support any of several different formats.  E-books are typically capable of being searched, making them excellent reference sources.  E-books are accessible 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  Many vendor platforms and e-book reading devices provide amenities such as dictionary and note taking applications. 

    2.  Does the Ort Library have e-books in its collection?

    Yes.  The Library is committed to supporting FSU’s academic programs and courses by providing access to scholarly publications and content.  E-books are a key component of the Library’s collection building strategies and new titles from leading academic publishers are regularly made available to Frostburg State University students, faculty and staff.

    3.  How do I access the Library’s e-books?

    E-books may be accessed by searching OneSearch, catalogUSMAI or by searching/browsing titles in relevant Library databases. Off-campus users will be required to enter the barcode number on their FSU ID card and their last name when prompted in order to access e-books.

    4.  Can I download an e-book to a portable device like an e-reader or iPad?

    Yes, if downloading is an available option from the vendor that hosts the e-book and if it is permitted by the publisher of the title.  All e-book vendors provide access to content on their web platforms and many also support downloading to supported e-book reading device.  Each vendor will have its own unique method for downloading e-books, so you will need to follow the instructions on the screen when you have found a title you would like to check-out.  Most e-book vendors require that you first download an application such as Adobe Digital Editions or BlueFire Reader and install it on your computer.  Please note that many, but not all, e-book readers are compatible with Adobe Digital Editions.  BlueFire Reader must be used for Apple iOS devices such as the iPad and iPhone as well as the KindleFire. Check-out periods for downloaded books may vary, but most are 14 days.

    5.  How many people may use an e-book at any one time?

    Most e-books are available to and accessed by users in the same manner as a print book – one user at a time.  Faculty members may contact the Acquisitions Department to inquire about additional simultaneous user options for specific titles.

    6.  What type of e-books does the library purchase? 

    The Library observes the same guidelines for e-books as for its printed collections.  Both print and electronic items are purchased and/or licensed to support the curricular and research objectives of the University’s academic programs.  Course textbooks are not purchased by the Library.

    7.  May I request that library order an e-book?

    Yes.  Faculty may place e-book and other materials requests to be applied to their department’s library materials allocation by using the Library Materials Order Form on the Library’s website.  Students or members of the community may request e-books and other materials by leaving suggestions at the main Circulation Desk of the Library or by contacting the Acquisitions Department directly.

    8.  Why is it that the Library is not able to acquire some e-books I have requested?

    The Library may not be able to obtain a book in electronic format for several reasons, but there are a few common explanations:

    • Availability may be an issue as publishers do not necessarily offer all of their print books in electronic format.
    • A publisher may choose to sell e-books to individual consumers, but not to libraries for lending to its users.
    • An e-book may be not hosted on a platform that supports the user authentication and/or lending capabilities necessary for the Library to manage circulation of the item.
    • Access to the title may involve recurring hosting fees or service charges.

    9.  Why doesn’t the Library just purchase e-books directly from Amazon or Barnes & Noble?

    Neither Amazon nor Barnes & Noble (or similar book retailers) provide academic libraries with a platform that supports lending capabilities for all of its students, faculty and staff without requiring a specific end-user device.  The Library partners with e-book vendors that provide access to content on a web-based platform as well as downloading capabilities to many e-book readers.

    10.  What is the typical cost of an e-book in comparison to a print copy?

    Pricing models for e-books are still being defined as publishers work to come to terms with the impact of this format upon their business models.  Therefore, the prices of e-books available to academic libraries are in a state of fluctuation – at least for the short-term.  However, the Ort Library’s experience to date is that the typical price of an e-book from an acceptable academic e-book vendor is usually greater than its print counterpart.  YBP Library Services, one of the largest book sellers serving the higher education market, reported that the average cost of an e-book from the three major academic e-book aggregators was just over 16% greater than that for a print book ($96.99 vs. $83.59), when all new titles offered in its approval plans during its 2011/2012 fiscal year were profiled.

    11.  Is there online help or tutorials available for using e-books?

    The Ort Library provides access to several online tutorials – those developed by library faculty as well as those created by database and e-book vendors – on its Tutorials webpage.  Help is also available on the e-book content sites and, of course; please do not hesitate to ask a librarian for assistance. 

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Randy Lowe
    Contact Info
    Collection Development, Acquisitions, & Serials Librarian
    Lewis J. Ort Library, Office 311
    301-687-4313
    rlowe@frostburg.edu
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip