Research Guides: Music Research Guide: Databases

What are Databases?

Databases help you locate articles that appear in periodicals. They may also conatain citations for books, book reviews, conference proceedings adn papers, and images.

Periodical (n.) is a magazine or journal issued at regular or stated intervals (usually weekly, monthly, or quearterly). Source: Oxford English Dictionary

Databases

Databases available via A-Z Databases. FSU Login required off campus.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The FSU Library subscribes to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences IV, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences collections.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of recent issues of 200 journals from 30 scholarly publishers. Search the full text of articles from the entire collection or, using the advanced search, from individual titles. Use the advanced search to search by date, by combining terms, to find book reviews and creative writing.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research from Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The citation indexes contain the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index.

Discover Library & Scholarly Resources with SearchCat

Discover articles, recordings, library books, music scores and more with the SearchCat discovery tool. When prompted, please log into SearchCat with your FSU credentials for full access and services.

Music Research Guide

Access Databases Remotely

Search Google Scholar!

Subject Guide

What are Databases?

Databases

Discover Library & Scholarly Resources with SearchCat