Skip to main content

ORIE: Introduction to the Library: What's in the Library?

A guide to the services and resources offered by Ort Library, specifically for first-year students.

Library Services Main Desk - 3rd Floor

The Library Services Main Desk is located just inside the main entrance (3rd floor) of the Lewis J. Ort Library on the right. Here you can:

  • Check out library materials
  • Access materials your instructor has placed on Reserve
  • Get help finding resources (both print & electronic) for your assignments
  • Pick up books that you have requested from other libraries
  • Get answers to general questions about the library and where items are located
  • Pay fines; update your address

Second Floor Service Desk - 2nd Floor

At the Second Floor Service Desk you can get:

  • Assistance with the library's technology (ex. MS Office, scanners, microfilm)
  • Help finding media items (ex. DVDs, items in the juvenile collection)
  • Answers to basic questions about the library
  • Assistance with the printer and computer stations

Computers: 2nd and 3rd Floors

Ort Library has many computers (PCs and Macs) available to students, faculty and staff.  Computers can be found on the second and third floors and can be accessed using your FSU username and password to login. 

Please review the computer use policy.

Group Study: 5th Floor

                       

The 5th floor is the Library's group study floor. Large tables and groups of couches allow for group work and quiet discussion.  If you are looking for a quiet study space, please go to Floor Four as this is the designated quiet floor. 

Silent Study: 4th Floor

The 4th floor is the Library's silent study floor.  Private study carrels with laptop hook-ups are available.  Designated quiet study space can also be found in the west wing of the Library's main floor (3rd).  These tables are marked "quiet study" and also have power outlets for laptop use.

Group and Individual Study

Group Study Rooms

  • Three group study rooms (P, Q, & R) are available on the 5th floor. 
  • Two group study rooms (227 & 228) are available on the 2nd floor.
  • These group rooms are equipped with computers, large monitors, and the ability to bring your laptop and display it on the large screen. Additionally, group study rooms have large whiteboards in them. Group study rooms accommodate 3-5 people and are perfect for practicing presentations, brainstorming as a group and working on group assignments.
  • You must check out a key for the group study rooms at the Circulation Desk. Your group can use the study rooms for 2 hours.

Individual Study Rooms

  • In addition, six individual study rooms are available for use on the 5th floor.
  • These rooms are available on a first come first serve basis.
  • Computers are available in the rooms for your use.

Use Policy

  • Please review the use policy before using the group study rooms.

                             

                  Group Study Room                                                     Group Study Room                                                  Individual Study Room

Printers, Photocopier and Scanners: 2nd and 3rd Floors

Printers

  • Printers can be found on the 2nd and 3rd floor of the library.  Printing is available from all computers in the library. Print Release Stations are available at each of the printers. To print your document, log into the Print Release Station and release the job you want printed. This has been implemented to assist with reducing paper waste.
  • Color printing is available in the library.
    • $0.25/per page - $0.50 double-sided
  • Printing to a library printer from your laptop is not available.

Photocopier

  • A photocopier is also available on the 3rd floor of the library. 
  • Copies are $0.10/page (or $0.08/page with Bobcat Express). 
  • You can pay for copies with Bobcat Express, cash, or coins. 

Scanners

  • The Library also has two scanners available for student, faculty and staff use. 
  • They can be found on the 2nd floor. 
  • The scanners allow you to scan images and documents in full color or black and white.

                   

Stacks: 4th and 5th Floors

The stacks are the "open shelf" collection of items available to browse and check out. Items in the stacks are organized according to the Library of Congress Classification System.

Floor 4: Stacks A-N

Books classified by the Library of Congress call letters A-N are located on the 4th floor. Some featured subjects in the A-N range are:
Philosophy                         Sociology
History                                 Music
Law                                      Art

Floor 5: Stacks P-Z
Books classified by the Library of Congress call letters P-Z are located on the 5th floor. Some featured subjects in the P-Z range are:
Literature                                 Medicine
Foreign Languages               Technology
Science

 

ALL oversized books are found on the 5th floor. 

Reference and Media Collections: 2nd Floor

The Reference Collection on the 2nd floor includes over 5,000 print titles for quick facts, including almanacs, encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries on a wide variety of subjects. Maps and atlases are also part of the collection.  

Adjacent to the Reference Collection is the Media department. In the Media department, you can:

Use/Access:
Teacher Materials Collection                                           Juvenile Collection (children's books)
Microform machines                                                          DVDs, CDs, microfilm

      

The Multimedia Presentation Room

Also available in the Media Area is the Multimedia Presentation Room. This room is set up just like a regular classroom. It is a great place to practice a presentation for a class. You can project your PowerPoint presentation onto the large monitor or watch a DVD that has been assigned by your instructor.

To access the Multimedia Presentation Room, check out the key at the Circulation Desk on the 3rd floor of the library.

                                                        

Print Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers: 2nd Floor

The print periodical collection holds the library’s subscriptions of journals, magazines, and newspapers. These are located on the 2nd floor of the library.

Journals and magazines are arranged by call number, not by title.

Newspapers are shelved by title on the display shelves.

Print journals, magazines and newspapers can only be used in the library.

See the Finding Resources tab for assistance with searching for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles available electronically.

Government Documents: 2nd Floor

The Ort Library serves as both a federal and state depository for government documents. The Government Documents Department collects 100% of all Maryland state documents, and selects 30% of all federal publications. The collection includes:

Books and pamphlets                            Maps and Atlases
CDs, DVDs                                               Microform

These documents are located on the 2nd floor of the Library.

Additionally, many government documents are available electronically. See a Reference Librarian for assistance with accessing electronic government documents.

Interlibrary Loan Office: 3rd/Main Floor

The Interlibrary Loan office is located on the 3rd floor in room 314.

This is where library users can pick up and return items requested from libraries outside the University System of Maryland.

New Interlibrary Loan users: register here! You will need your student ID number and your FSU barcode found on your ID card.

Library Instruction Center: 3rd/Main Floor

The Library Instruction Center (LIC) is inside the main entrance (3rd floor) to the left. Faculty librarians provide library instruction sessions for FSU classes here. Faculty can fill out a request form to schedule sessions.

Ort Library at a Glance

5th Floor
• Book Stacks P — Z
• Oversized Books
• Group Study Tables
• 3 Group Study Rooms (P, Q, & R)
• 6 individual study rooms

4th Floor
• Book Stacks A — N
• Special Collections
• J. Glenn Beall Archives Room
• Pearl F. Ort Conference Room
• Student Storage Lockers

3rd Floor
• Library Services Main Desk
• Library Instruction Classroom
• Interlibrary Loan Office
• Technical Services Departments
• Photocopier/Printers/Bobcat Express
• Lost and Found
• New Book and DVD Arrivals
• PCs and Macs

2nd Floor
• Second Floor Service Desk
• Library Director’s Office/Administrative Assistant
• Media, Maps, Government Documents
• Children’s Literature Collection
• Print Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines
• 3 Printers, 2 Scanners, and Microfilm Readers
• 2 Group Study Rooms (227 & 228)
• PCs and Macs