Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- What are the library's hours?
- Click on the Library Hours Link for the most up-to-date information.
- How long can I check out a book?
- Undergrads can check out books from the Stacks for 28 days. They can be renewed as long as no one else requests them.
- Can I check out reference books?
- How long can DVDs be checked out for?
E-Mail a Research Librarian
The best way to get assistance from a Research Librarian is to use the .
The direct URL for the Guide is:
The Guide provides some FAQs which can answer some of the basic questions you might have about resources and services the Library offers.
The Guide also provides information on how to contact a Research Librarian by:
- Scheduling a Research Consultation
Frequently Asked Questions
- What is OneSearch?
- OneSearch allows you to search the library catalog and most of the library databases all at once from a Google-Like search box. Results in OneSearch will include many different kinds of resources including books, articles, e-books, etc. It is a great way to find many different kinds of resources on a topic all at once.
- I found information on an article in OneSearch but I am not sure how I actually get the article?
- If the article is available in PDF or HTML, you will see the following icon(s):
- If the article is not available in full-text in the current database:
- the article may be available full-text in another database
- in print in the library
- or available from another library through interlibrary loan.
- To find out which option is available, click the "Find it" icon.
- Then read the information in the pop-up window and follow the "go" buttons. You may wish to ask a librarian for help.
- I'm using OneSearch to find articles but not very many of the articles I find are available in PDF or HTML format. What should I do?
- OneSearch offers an option on the basic search box found on the library's home page to narrow down to just full-text articles. To do this, put a check next to Full-Text (online). However, just remember, if you select the Full-text option you may miss out on articles available in print or in another database.
- Where are your peer-reviewed journals? My professor says I have to use them for my paper?
- Peer-review is a process by which articles are checked for accuracy and completeness by a panel prior to publication. Because of this, peer-reviewed journals have great credibility in academia.
- When using OneSearch you are able to limit articles that have been peer-reviewed. To do this, put a check next to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed). In OneSearch, there will be an icon next to the article showing if it is peer-reviewed. It will say "Academic Journal".
- I found a listing in OneSearch for a book. How do I know where it is shelved?
- First make sure that the book you are looking for is located here in the Ort Library. OneSearch allows you to search all the University System of Maryland Libraries. If the book is located in the Ort Library, then there are signs leading to the stairwells and various posters around the building list which call numbers are on which floor. Be sure to click on the "availability" link in the citation to see if the book is on the shelf.
- A-N are available on the 4th floor
- P-Z are available on the 5th floor
- I found a listing for a book and under "location" it says E-books. What does this mean?
- The item is an e-book. It is available in electronic format. You cannot save it, but many e-books will allow you to print a specific number of pages. When reading an e-book on your computer screen, you usually navigate e-books by clicking on a page or chapter on the left. They can be cited in papers and are as legitimate as print books.
- How do I find items my instructor has placed on reserve?
- Go to the Library Services Main Desk on the 3rd floor and tell the staff member the title of the item and the name of the instructor and explain that the item is on reserve. Reserve items are check out for two hours for use in the building only.
- How can I get more help?
- Librarians are available at the Library Services Main Desk located on the 3rd floor:
- Monday - Friday: 11 am to 5 pm
- Monday - Thursday: 6 pm to 9 pm
- Sunday: 1 to 5 pm and 6 to 9 pm
This section originally authored by Jeff Maehre. Updated by Theresa Mastrodonato (7/18/12, 5/10/13, 6/20/13, 8/29/2016, 7/23/19, 5/26/20)
How to use OneSearch
This tutorial will walk you step by step through the process of using OneSearch to find books in the Ort Library, in other University of Maryland Libraries, and articles that are available through OneSearch.