Skip to main content

ORIE: Introduction to the Library: Finding Resources

A guide to the services and resources offered by Ort Library, specifically for first-year students.

Where do I start?

The best place to begin looking for resources (books, e-books, articles, or newspapers) is with OneSearch.

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch allows you to simultaneously search the library catalog, e-books, and the library's article databases all from a single search box.

Discover Library & Scholarly Resources with OneSearch

Search for library books, articles from library databases, and more ... simultaneously from one box!

 
OneSearch: Articles, Books & More
 

Access OneSearch from off campus

Remote Access for Library Services

If you want to access the library databases from off-campus, you will need to know your 14-digit barcode.  You will need to enter your barcode and last name to access the databases.

If you are a student, faculty, or staff member with an FSU ID, your library barcode will be located on the FSU ID.

You can also find your library barcode using PAWS.  To find your 14-digit library card number through PAWS:

  • Log into Paws
  • Select Self-Service
  • Select Student Center
  • Under Other Area at bottom of screen select Library Acct Info
  • Your 14-digit barcode will be listed there.

Find library materials using OneSearch?

What is OneSearch?
OneSearch is a tool that searches across the Ort Library's resources and collections. OneSearch brings together article databases, the library catalog, and e-books, as well as other online resources provided by the library all with a single search!


How do I Access OneSearch and Conduct a Search?
To access OneSearch, point your web browser to the Lewis J. Ort Library website (https://www.frostburg.edu/library/) and enter your search terms in the search box as in the following example:

What do the Tabs Across the Top of the OneSearch Box Mean?
Each of the tabs above the OneSearch box allows you to conduct a different type of search:

  • OneSearch – Search all library resources (journal articles, books, e-books, etc.).
  • Catalog – Limit your search to the library catalog.
  • A-Z Databases – Select a specific database for conducting your research.
  • Journal Search – Browse electronic journals by title or subject.
  • EBooks – Search for electronic books.
  • Library Account – Access your account to renew books or to see what items you have checked out

If you use OneSearch off campus, you will need to log in with your library barcode ID in order to access the resources that you find.

Search Reference E-Books

Credo Reference offers the opportunity to search over 600 full-text ready reference titles.  Topics include: art, business, geography, history, language, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, social sciences, technology, and general reference sources (inlcuding Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary).

 

  

Search Reference E-Books

How do I check out a book?

To check out a book found in the Stacks (4th or 5th floors), you need to go to the Library Services Main Desk.

Location: 3rd Floor of the Ort Library, to the right of the Main Entrance

Phone: 301-687-4395

E-mail: circulation@frostburg.edu

Undergraduates can check out books for 28 days.  You can renew a book if it hasn't been requested by someone else.

For more information on due dates, fines, or InterLibrary Loan see: Ort Library Borrowing and Circulation Policies

Need more help?

Contact a reference librarian!

In-Person: Library Services Main Desk (3rd floor)

Telephone: 301-687-4395

Email: libref@frostburg.edu

Web: Ask a Librarian!

Need specialized help? Contact one of the subject librarians.