Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluate Web Sources!
Want a quick way to remember to evaluate websites? Use:
For more detailed information, see attatched handout.
Google Advanced Search
Try Google Advanced Search to expertly refine your topic and narrow your search to particular regions, formats and site domains!
If you search Google for information on your topic, you may want to add the words primary documents, diaries, personal narratives, or archives to your search terms.
Primary Sources on the Web
You may want to use web resources for your historical research and there are many good sites that are reliable that you can use, even for primary sources. Try some of the tips and tools at the site Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using provided by the American Library Association's Reference and User Services Association. It's a good place to start!.
A Sampling of Authoritative Web Resources
American Presidency Project
A searchable database of the papers of the Presidents from Washington to Biden.
A library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It provides free access to researchers, historians, and scholars.
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, Diplomacy
The Avalon Project includes digitized documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics,Politics, Diplomacy and Government going back to ancient times.
The Black Past: Remembered and Reclaimed
an online reference center with a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location. on the Internet. Materials include an online encyclopedia of over 1,500 entries, complete transcripts of over 125 speeches given between 1789 and 2008, over 100 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines and four gateway pages with links to 50 digital archive collections.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Links to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history.
Includes numerous primary sources, plus reviewed and
annotated links to more than 1000 sites pertaining to US history.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized collections of primary sources, including documents, photographs and maps, many pertaining to American History.
Making of America (Civil War primary sources)
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
National Archives and Records Administration
Here are the vast databases and catalogs of the National Archives, with links to many online documentary records at other sites. However, only a fraction of the Archives’ records are available online.
Project Gutenberg offers over 57,000 free eBooks, with a focus on older works, for which copyright has expired
Vietnam War Documents
Excerpts and abstracts of primary documents pertaining to the Viet Nam War, including the history leading up to the War since 1945.
Links for Chicago Citation Style