Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOWK 371 Research Guide: Databases/Journals

Library resources supporting SOWK 370: Introduction to Social Welfare and Social Work

Explore OneSearch!

Use OneSearch to explore the library's  resources simultaneously from one search box, including articles and e-books from most of the Ort Library's databases 

Social Work Journals

These are a small selection of the many academic journals in the field of Social Work with full text articles in the library research databases.

Search Google Scholar!

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar provides the option to search for scholarly peer-reviewed articles utilizing the search engine of Google.

You can set up Google Scholar to link to full-text articles from scholarly journals available from the Ort Library. Please see the "Make Google Scholar Work for You" PDF attached below.

Database Resources

A lot of your research will come from journals published in academic journals that have been published electronically and are accessible from the Research Port databases. On this page below, you'll find:

  • Recommended Databases for SOWK 370
  • A short list of Social Work Journals pointing to their full-text database locations
  • An EBSCO Database Demonstration (video)

Recommended Databases

EBSCO Database Tutorial

Thirty of the 60 databases in Databases A-Z  and Research Port share the same EBSCO navigation screen, which means if you become proficient at using one database, you will also be a "pro" at navigating 29 others! Here is a video for conducting a basic search in an EBSCO database.