Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Transfer Student Library Jumpstart: Finding Resources

Resources available in the Library

The Lewis J. Ort Library provides students, faculty, and staff access to many different types of resources including:

  • scholarly/peer-reviewed journals
  • print books
  • e-books
  • newspapers
  • popular magazines
  • online encyclopedias (Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  • dissertations and theses
  • conference proceedings

OneSearch and Other Search Options

On the library's home page, you will see several tabs which will allow you to access different resources.

  • Articles, Books, & More - this is the OneSearch tab. It provides options to search by keyword, title, or author. You can also narrow down by full-text and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.
  • Catalog - this tab provides you with the ability to just search the library catalog for resources (print books, e-books, DVDs, government documents, etc.)  in the Ort Library. You can also search for resources in the entire USMAI system for resources.
  • E-books - this tab provides you the option to just search for e-books that the library has access to. E-books are available 24/7 and there is no need to remember to return the book when you are done.
  • A-Z Databases - this tab provides you with a list of subject specific databases. Click on the tab to access these databases.
  • A-Z Journals - this tab provides you with the ability see what journals the library has available full-text electronically. Once you find a specific journal, it will also provide information on which database it is available in and the date ranges for full-text availability.

Where do I Start?

A great place to start your research is with OneSearch. OneSearch is the library's all-in-one search tool that allows you to search the library catalog and most of the library's databases all from one convenient search box.

Access Databases Remotely

Library database access and other remote library services requires login off campus with your 14-digit barcode number printed on front of your ID card.

If you don't have an FSU ID card ... You can also obtain your barcode number from your PAWS account: Go to Self-Service, click on Student Center, and scroll down to Other Areas to obtain your library barcode information.

Access or Library Account Questions? Call the Ort Library Circulation Desk at 301-687-4395.

Search Google Scholar!

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar provides the option to search for scholarly articles utilizing the search engine of Google. However, using Google Scholar provides you with the opportunity to find only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles available out on the web.

You can set up Google Scholar to link items found through that search to items available in the Ort Library. Please see the "Make Google Scholar Work for You" below.