It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are a small selection of the many academic journals in the field of Social Work with full text articles in the library research databases.
Child & Adolescent Social Work Journal
1996 to present in Academic Search Complete and SocINDEX (most recent year not available)
Child & Family Social Work
1998 to present in Academic Search Complete, CINAHL Plus wuth Full Text, SocINDEX
Journal of Social Work Education
1990 -present in SocINDEX
1975 to present in Academic Search Complete (most recent year not available)
Social Work Research
1994 to present in Academic Search Complete and SocINDEX (most recent year not available)
A lot of your research will come from journals published in academic journals that have been published electronically and are accessible from the databases at A-Z Databases or Research Port. On this page below, you'll find:
Recommended Databases for SOWK 370
A short list of Social Work Journals pointing to their full-text database locations
Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides indexing for more than 4,300 journals with over 760 titles in full text. Journal coverage is from 1981 to the present. Also includes the full text of selected books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Nearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
Covers nursing and other allied health subjects such as nutrition, physical therapy, public health, and alternative and complementary medicine. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations.
The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included.
EBSCO Database Tutorial
Thirty of the 60 databases in Databases A-Z and Research Port share the same EBSCO navigation screen, which means if you become proficient at using one database, you will also be a "pro" at navigating 29 others! Here is a video for conducting a basic search in an EBSCO database.