Research Guides: ENGL 308 Research Guide (Hartzog): Databases

Got Access?

Database access requires login off campus with your 14-digit barcode number printed on front of your ID card.

You can also obtain your barcode number from your PAWS account: Go to Self-Service, click on Student Center, and scroll down to Other Areas to obtain your library barcode information.

Access or Library Account Questions? Call the Ort Library Circulation Desk at
301-687-4395.

OneSearch: Discover Research Articles & More

Use OneSearch to discover research articles, books, and more, all from one search box!

Database Resources

A lot of your research in ENGL 308 will come from the library databases. On this page below, you'll find:

Recommended Databases for ENGL 308
An EBSCO Database Demonstration (video)

Recommended Databases

Databases available via A-Z Databases. Login required off the FSU campus.

Academic Search Ultimate

Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides indexing for more than 4,300 journals with over 760 titles in full text. Journal coverage is from 1981 to the present. Also includes the full text of selected books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

A collection of electronic books covering a wide variety of subject material.
Education Research Complete

Covers education topics from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
ERIC (EBSCO)

It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Health Source: Nursing

Nearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
MEDLINE (EBSCO)

Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries.
Professional Development

Provides a highly specialized full-text colletion of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracting is provided for over 900 journals. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
PsycArticles

The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection

Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Offers full text coverage for nearly 600 journals.
PsycINFO

PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
SocIndex with Full-Text

The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included.

Basic EBSCOhost Searching

Forty of the 90 FSU Library research databases share the blue-green screen on the EBSCOhost platform. Those include the most important databases for the Social Sciences and Nursing.

Basic EBSCO database searching lets you search for items using your single keyword, but with options like limiters for full-text, academic journal articles, number of pages, date ranges, etc. This video shows you how it works: