Skip to main content

Women's Studies Subject Guide: Primary Sources

Primary Source Documents

Use these web sites to find primary sources related to Women's Studies.  Primary documents include letters, diaries, pamphlets, broadsides, photographs, speeches, etc.

American Memory Project: Women's History
Search documents held at the Library of Congress. Many contain digitized images.

Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony Papers Project
A project of Rutgers University this collection is a project devoted to locating and publishing the papers of these two nineteenth-century American reformers. Includes some digitzed resources and citations to resources in libraries.

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture
Part of the Special Collections Library of Duke University, this collection contains items ranging from plantation diaries the papers of contemporary feminist activists. Many items in the collections are digitized. Searchable by subject category or keywor

Votes for Women: Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921
This site includes documents from the Library of Congress' Rare Book and Manuscript Collection. The site contains an extensive collection of digitized suffrage documents that nicely complements a U.S. Women's History course.

Women Working in the United States, 1800-1930
Digitized collections of books, manuscripts, and images housed at the Harvard Libraries and Museums focusing on the role of women in the U.S. labor force during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphl

Internet Women's History Sourcebook
This formidable sites includes documents pertaining to women's history in a global context. This site is part of a larger project called the Internet History Sourcebooks Project at Fordham University.

Subject Guide

Amanda Bena's picture
Amanda Bena
Contact:
Frostburg State University
Lewis J. Ort Library
Office 315
1 Susan Eisel Drive
Frostburg, MD 21532
301-687-7012