Skip to main content

Geography Research Guide

Discover Library & Scholarly Resources with OneSearch

Article Databases

You can find articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers by searching with OneSearch. You can also do so by searching in a specific database.

All Databases

If you're looking for a specific database to search, look under the Library's A-Z Databases list. Benefits of searching in specific databases rather than with OneSearch include specialized search options, lists of recommended subject terms, and even less-cluttered search results.

Find a Specific Journal

If you're looking for a specific journal (or magazine or newspaper), use JournalSearch. This looks for any journal, magazine, or newspaper that is available online. If found, it will include information on the dates available and a link to the database that has access to that journal.

Some of the Library's journals, magazines, and newspapers are still available in print or microfilm. These are available on the second floor of the library. To search for a print version of a journal, magazine, or newspaper, please use the Library's catalog (CatalogUSMAI).

Google Scholar

In addition to the library's databases, you can also search for scholarly articles with GoogleScholar. 

If you have a Gmail/Google account, you can even customize your search results. After doing this, if any of the articles found through GoogleScholar is available from the Frostburg Library, it will help you find the full text! To customize your account, please follow the directions on the "Make Google Scholar Work For You" handout below.

Google Scholar Search

Book or Article Not Available?

If FSU does not have access to your article, or if your book is not available from any USMAI campus, don't give up! 

Our Interlibrary Loan staff will check for other libraries who are willing to loan you the item. 

 

Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals

Discover the difference between articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines/newspapers and find out why articles from scholarly journals are considered more authoritative.

(Courtesy of the Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University)