Research Guides: Nurse Practitioner Research Guide: Find Articles &amp; Journals

Subject Specific Databases

Key Subject Databases

See complete database list at A-Z Databases. To access databases off-campus, log in with your FSU username/password.

AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical reference resource.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive database offering access to 717 active full-text journals spanning various disciplines in nursing, allied health, along with evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more. Literature available includes nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This full-text database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics from consumer health magazines and reference materials. Subjects Include: fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, and children's health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database created by the National Library of Medicine containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers. It contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database created by the National Library of Medicine containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers. It contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Covers nursing and other allied health subjects such as nutrition, physical therapy, public health, and alternative and complementary medicine. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
PsycArticles
A comprehensive database of full-text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and its affiliated journals. It provides access to a wide-range of psychological research including articles from over 119 journals, dating back to 1894.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection
A comprehensive full-text database providing hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, observational and experimental methods, and it includes particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
PsycINFO
An ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts offering a broad view of the multiple disciplines including neuroscience, business, nursing, law and education. Content includes over 5 million records, 2400+ indexed and abstracted peer-reviewed journals, with coverage back to the 1600s.
PubMed
Includes more than 39 million citations from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
UpToDate - Account Creation Required - Click to Create or Reverify Your Account
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource used by healthcare practitioners to help them make informed decisions at the point of care.
Web of Science
Provides indexing and abstracts gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research from Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The citation indexes contain the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index.

OneSearch

What is SearchCat?

With SearchCat you can search most databases and the FSU and USMAI book catalogs all at the same time!

Requesting Resources with Interlibrary Loan

About Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) lets you request resources, especially full-text research articles, that are not available through the FSU Ort Library's collections or databases. You can request these sources you find through the yellow Find It button in the individual databases. Interlibrary Loan is not fully operational yet through the new library search tool SearchCat, but there are simple workarounds for that!

Log In to Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Log In
Request articles and borrow books not available through USMAI libraries.
Create an account by clicking "First Time Users" and signing up with your 14-digit library barcode number and last name.

Interlibrary Loan Frequently Asked Questions

Try Google Scholar

Link directly to full text articles available through the Ort Library from Google Scholar search results!

From the Google Scholar home page:

Click the menu icon in the upper left corner. It looks like three stacked horizontal lines
Go to Settings
Go to Library Links & search for Frostburg State University
Select Frostburg State University - Find it @ FSU Libraries
Save preferences

When searching, click Find it @ FSU Libraries in Google Scholar results to link to the content through the Ort Library!