Research Guides: Nurse Practitioner Research Guide: Getting Started

About This Guide

This Research Guide is designed to provide resource suggestion and research help for the Nurse Practitioner Medicine programs.

This guide covers:

key database resources
finding articles and journals and requesting resources not available through Ort Library
citation and academic integrity
professional association websites
getting research help

To view the Library information from the NP Program Orientation session, access the PDF below:

NP Program Library Orientation

Subject Specific Databases

Key Subject Databases

See complete database list at A-Z Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical reference resource.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides indexing for more than 4,300 journals with over 760 titles in full text. Journal coverage is from 1981 to the present. Also includes the full text of selected books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Large range of consumer health information/topics. Full text of nearly 300 periodicals such as: Harvard Health Letter, Prevention, Tufts, Johns Hopkins, Vegetarian Times, Women's health Weekly. Also includes a wide range of full text health related pamphlets and reference books, patient education fact sheets from sources such as: People's Medical Society, A.D.A.M., A.A.R.P and Society Publications
Health Source: Nursing This link opens in a new window
Nearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and other allied health subjects such as nutrition, physical therapy, public health, and alternative and complementary medicine. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Offers full text coverage for nearly 600 journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, or library databases.
UpToDate - Account Creation Required This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource used by healthcare practitioners to help them make informed decisions at the point of care.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research from Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The citation indexes contain the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index.

Off-campus Access

To access databases off-campus, log in with your 14-digit barcode number.

Essential Library Resources

OneSearch
Search box on library homepage. With OneSearch you can search most databases and the FSU and USMAI catalogs all at the same time! Requires log in off campus.
LOCAL Catalog
CatalogUSMAI
Find books in the Ort Library plus the 16 campuses in the University System of Maryland. Request books from other campuses.
Library Account
Log in to renew or check on the status of items you requested.
InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad Logon)