Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 299 Research Guide : Journals

Journals A-Z Online

Discover the journals in the databases where you can access full text articles using Journal Search!  Off-campus login is required.

Search Library Databases with Google Scholar!

To unleash the full power of Google Scholar, go into Google Scholar settings and search for Frostburg State University as a library link to select. Then you can search all the library databases using the familiar Google interface! 

You will need to log in with your barcode ID to access the full text articles linked in the right margin of the Scholar search results page.

Google Scholar Search

Journals

On this page you find:

  • a selection of print and online history journals, and where to look for them
  • criteria distinguishing scholarly journals from popular magazines

Selected Journals

Selected History Journals in Print or Available as Full Text

American Historical Review  (Call number E171 .A57)

  • In the library as print and microfilm from 1895
  • Full text in Academic Search Ultimate, 1975 - present

Civil War History (Call number E461 .C5)

  • In the library as print and microfilm from 1955 – 2008
  • Full text in Project Muse, 1978 to present

Current History (Call number D410.C82)

In the library as print and microfilm from 1941 - presento   

Foreign Policy (Call number E744 .F75)

  • In the library as print and microfilm from 1970-2008
  • Full text in Academic Search Ultimate, 1990 - present

Hispanic- American Historical Review (Call number F1401 .H66)

  • In the library as print and microfilm from 1950 – 2008
  • Full text in Academic Search Ultimate, 1997 - present (most recent year unavailable)

History Today (Call number D1.H818)

  • In the library as print from 1951 – 1959 and 1962 - presento   

Journal of African-American History (Call number E185.5 .J86)

  • In the library as microfilm from 2002-2009
  • Full text in Academic Search Ultimate, 2002 - present

Journal of American History (Call number E171 .J87)

    • In the library as print and microfilm from 1914 – 2008
    • Full text in Humanities International Complete, 1983 – present

Journal of American Ethnic History

  • Full text in Academic Search Ultimate, 1990 to present

 

Journal of Women’s History

 

  • Full text in Project Muse, 1989 – present

The Western Historical Quarterly (Call number F591.W464)

  • In the library as print from 1970 – present
  • Full text in Humanities International Complete, 2006 - present

Popular vs. Scholarly Literature

In the research databases, there are tools that help you filter your article search specifically for the source formats of scholarly journals, magazines or newspapers. Still it is helpful to know the characteristics of the periodical literature you will encounter either in print or online as you do research. Of course information from scholarly journals is the best for academic research!

 

Scholarly/
Professional Journals

Popular Magazines
(and Newspapers)

Article Type

In-depth research articles, often peer-reviewed; usually includes an abstract; may be brief news of developments in the field or recent research, academic book reviews

Brief, nontechnical, current events, news; quick facts; short interviews, brief book reviews, ads

Purpose

To provide information about, report, or present original research or experiments

To provide general information to, entertain, or persuade the general public

Authors

Clearly defined; experts with significant knowledge in the subject area, scholars, and researchers

Not always identified; staff writers

Audience

Professors, researchers, and students, members of association; other professionals in the field

General 

Publisher

Typically a university or professional association

Typically commercial

Writing Style

Formal or semiformal; scholarly language; may use technical or specialized language

Informal; language is easy to understand

Documentation

Footnotes or endnotes; bibliography; suggested resources for more information

None

Illustrations/
Graphics

May include tables, graphs, charts, or equations to support the research

Often includes glossy photographs, ads, images

Examples

Sloan Management Review, Journal of Clinical Child Psychology, Journal of Computer Information Systems, Journal of American History

Time, Newsweek, Business Week, Psychology Today, PC World, Washington Post