Research Guides: EDAD 611/612 Resource Guide: Databases

Recommended Databases

These recommended education databases listed below are just a few of the approximately 60 FSU databases available via via the Database A-Z List. Click on the blue information icons for database descriptions. FSU login required off the FSU campus.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. it includes some coverage of education topics.
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
School administration has business aspects! This database provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for scholarly business journals, trade publications, and management journals dating back as far as 1886.
Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for scholarly business journals, trade publications and management journals dating back as far as 1886. Additional content includes financial data, books, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies and various reports and analyses.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic books covering a wide variety of subject material, including elementary education!
A collection of electronic books covering a wide variety of subject material.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers education topics from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books
Covers education topics from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive and authoritative research database in the field of Education (you can even narrow your search to just information for administrators): ERIC provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Professional Development This link opens in a new window
This database covers all aspects of education including curriculum development, leadership, research and administration. It provides a highly specialized full-text collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracting is provided for over 900 journals.
Provides a highly specialized full-text colletion of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracting is provided for over 900 journals. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

Practice Boolean Logic for Power Searching

The link below gives you visual representation of what happens when you combine your search keywords with the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT in databases and website search engines.

Knowledge of AND, OR, NOT may help you troubleshoot challenging searches, Even Google uses a version of Boolean (it runs in the background, but you can see it if you use Google Advanced).

Rockwell Schrock's Boolean Machine
more...less...
The Boolean Machine is a tool for visualizing the effects of Boolean operators on keyword searches. Move your cursor over the Boolean operators to find out how they work!

Search Google Scholar!

To unleash the full power of Google Scholar, login with your FSU barcode ID# first :Then you can search all the library databases using the familiar Google interface! Links to full-text accessible articles pop up in the right margin.

Boolean: Combining Keywords in Databases

This YouTube video from the University of Auckland, New Zealand demonstrates how to combine search keywords using the Boolean AND, OR, and NOT. It also shows you how to apply Boolean searching in a variety of database and catalog search screens.