Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDUC 603 Research Guide: Databases & APA Style

Library Resources for EDUC 603 - Principles and Practices of Research

Practice Boolean Logic for Power Searching

The link below gives you visual representation of what happens when you combine your search keywords with the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT in databases and website search engines.

Knowledge of AND, OR, NOT may help you troubleshoot challenging searches, Even Google uses a version of Boolean (it runs in the background, but you can see it if you use Google Advanced).

Search Google Scholar!

To unleash the full power of Google Scholar, go into Google Scholar settings and search for Frostburg State University as library link to select. Then you can search all the library databases using the familiar Google interface! 

You will need to log in with your barcode ID to access the full text articles linked in the right margin of the Scholar search results page.

Google Scholar Search

Recommended Databases

These recommended education databases listed below are just a few of the approximately 60 FSU databases available via ResearchPort or A_Z Databases. Login required off the FSU campus.

Boolean: Combining Keywords in Databases

This YouTube video from the University of Auckland, New Zealand demonstrates how to combine search keywords using the Boolean AND, OR, and NOT. It also shows you how to apply Boolean searching in a variety of database and catalog search screens.

Search Powerful Reference Sources!

Online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics:

 

APA Citation Style Links

Resources to help you use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style.