Skip to main content

EDLP 806: Databases

Practice Boolean Logic for Power Searching

The link below gives you visual representation of what happens when you combine your search terms with the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT in OneSearch, library databases and website search engines.

Knowledge of AND, OR, NOT may help you troubleshoot challenging searches, Even Google uses a search protocol based on Boolean (it runs in the background, but you can see it if you use Google Advanced).

Search Google Scholar!

To unleash the full power of Google Scholar off campus, go to Google Scholar settings and browse for Frostburg State University as a library link and select it. Then you can search all the library databases using the familiar Google interface! 

Findit@frostburg.edu links to available full-text accessible articles pop up in the right margin of the search results. You will need to log in to access them off campus.

Google Scholar Search

Recommended Databases

These recommended education databases listed below are just a few of the approximately 60 FSU databases available via the Database A-Z List or ResearchPort. Click on the blue information icons for database descriptions. Login required off the FSU campus.

Boolean: Combining Keywords in Databases

This YouTube video from the University of Auckland, New Zealand demonstrates how to combine search keywords using the Boolean AND, OR, and NOT. It also shows you how to apply Boolean searching in a variety of database and catalog search screens.

Search Powerful Reference Sources!

Online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics:

 

APA Citation Style Links

Resources to help you use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style.