To unleash the full power of Google Scholar, go into Google Scholar settings and search for Frostburg State University as library link to select. Then you can search all the library databases using the familiar Google interface!
You will need to log in with your barcode ID to access the full text articles linked in the right margin of the Scholar search results page.
With OneSearch you can search most databases and the FSU and USMAI catalogs all at the same time!
This collection includes approximately 10,000 documents relating to all aspects of American life and literature, from the country's earliest days to the outbreak of World War I (1914). LAC is an excellent treasure trove of primary sources.
Included are pamphlets, periodicals, public and private documents, biographies and autobiographies, fiction, non-fiction, poetry, collected works and papers.
The LAC collection was reproduced as micro-images on ultrafiche microform. Each flashcard-sized sheet sheet may include up to 1000 pages. The collection is stored in a cabinet on the 2nd Floor near the microfilm readers. One of the readers has the special lens to read microfiche and you can ask a librarian to assist you.
As many of these old documents are in the public domain (not limited by copyright), freely available digitized collections such as Google Books and HathiTrust may provide Internet access to reproductions.
The library has historic newspapers on microfilm on the second floor, including the local Cumberland newspaper going back to the 1870s. Plus, we have a small selection of historic newspapers from the 1700s. A librarian can assist you with the microform reader machines to read and print from microfilm.