Skip to main content

Resources for Distance Students: Home

This guide provides information about the resources and services that the Lewis J. Ort Library provides for those students who attend classes at a distance.

Circulation Desk Assistance

The Circulation Desk can be reached at 301-687-4395 or circulation@frostburg.edu

If you are unable to access the databases from off-campus, you will first need to know your 14 Digit Barcode. The handout to find your library barcode information can be found in the box below.

If you know your library barcode information but get an error message when logging in you should contact the Circulation Desk for assistance. The contact number for the Circulation Desk is listed above. Library Hours can be found at the following link: http://libguides.frostburg.edu/libhours

Finding your 14 Digit Barcode

Tutorials

The Tutorials Tab has many different handouts available in PDF format including:

  • How to access databases from off-campus
  • How to access specific journals from off-campus
  • Logging into OneSearch from off-campus
  • Accessing your Library Account to renew books or see when books are due.

Welcome

This guide has been designed to provide information to students who attend FSU at a distance. Even though you may not be able to physically come to the library, we want you to know that the Ort Library is still available to you. The library provides resources and services that you as a distance student can access from anywhere that works best for you.

One thing you will need to access the resources and services of the library is your 14 Digit Barcode. Most students access this on their FSU ID. Don't worry if you do not have an FSU ID, you still have a 14 Digit Barcode. You can find this through PAWS. The instructions for finding your 14 Digit Barcode can be found on the left hand side of this page.

Resources and Services for Distance Students

Students who attend at a distance can access:

  • OneSearch and Subject Specific Databases
  • Print Books (available from FSU and other University of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions [USMAI] campus libraries)
  • E-books
  • Online Periodicals (scholarly/peer-reviewed, popular magazines, newspapers)
  • Online Encyclopedias (Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  • Interlibrary Loan (articles and print resources)
  • Reference and Research Assistance (phone, e-mail, 24/7 chat, in-person)
  • Research Consultations (one-on-one time to work exclusively with a librarian)
  • Subject library guides and class specific library guides
  • Government documents and Special Collections
  • Tutorials

Need More Help?

Reference Assistance: Reference Desk | 2nd Floor | 301-687-4424  | MD AskUsNow! (24/7 chat reference) | libref@frostburg.edu

Research Consultations: Research Consultations provide you with a one-on-one consultation with a reference librarian. If you are a distance student we can set up a meeting with you via phone, Skype, or another method which works best for you. Please use the following URL to schedule a session with a reference librarian: http://www.frostburg.edu/lewis-ort-library/userserv/research-consultation-services/

Theresa Mastrodonato

Theresa Mastrodonato's picture
Theresa Mastrodonato
Contact:
Coordinator of Library Instruction for First Year Students/Reference Librarian
Lewis J. Ort Library - Room 318
Frostburg State University
1 Susan Eisel Drive
Frostburg, MD 21532
301-687-4425

E-mail Reference Help

This is our email reference service.

Ask a Librarian 24/7!

Want to chat with a librarian? Type in your question and click Send.