Skip to main content

Resources for Distance Students: Home

This guide provides information about the resources and services that the Lewis J. Ort Library provides for those students who attend classes at a distance.

Chat with a Librarian!

Click the button above to chat with a Research Librarian.

If the button above says Chat Offline, then a Research Librarian is not available to chat with you. If you select the button anyways, it will take you to the screen where you can submit a request for assistance. A Research Librarian will get back to you as soon as they can.

You can also check out https://libguides.frostburg.edu/ask for FAQs that may help answer some of your questions.

Need Help?

If you need assistance, please see the Ask A Librarian Guide.

The direct URL for the guide is: https://libguides.frostburg.edu/ask.

The guide offers FAQs that answer some of the most common questions about services and resources in the library. It also provides different options to contact a Research Librarian, including chat, e-mail, or scheduling a Research Consultation.

Finding your 14 Digit Barcode

If you are unable to access the databases from off-campus, you will first need to know your 14 Digit Barcode. The handout to find your library barcode information can be found below.

If you know your library barcode information but get an error message when logging in you should contact the Library Services Main Desk for assistance. The contact number for the Library Services Main Desk is listed above. Library Hours can be found at the following link: http://libguides.frostburg.edu/libhours

Tutorials

The Tutorials Tab has many different handouts available in PDF format including:

  • How to access databases from off-campus
  • How to access specific journals from off-campus
  • Logging into OneSearch from off-campus
  • Accessing your Library Account to renew books or see when books are due.

Welcome

This guide has been designed to provide information to students who attend FSU at a distance/online. Even though you may not be able to physically come to the library, we want you to know that the Ort Library is still available to you. The library provides resources and services that you as a distance student can access from anywhere that works best for you.

Resources and Services for Distance Students

Students who attend at a distance can access:

  • OneSearch and Subject Specific Databases
  • Print Books (available from FSU and other University of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions [USMAI] campus libraries)
  • E-books
  • Online scholarly/peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, newspapers
  • Online Encyclopedias (Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  • Interlibrary Loan (articles and print resources)
  • Reference and Research Assistance (phone, e-mail, in-person)
  • Research Consultations (one-on-one time to work exclusively with a librarian either online or in-person)
  • Subject library guides and class specific library guides
  • Government documents and Special Collections
  • Tutorials

Where to get help

Contact a Research Librarian!

Check out the Ask A Librarian Guide.

The direct URL for the Guide is: https://libguides.frostburg.edu/ask

The Ask A Librarian Guide has FAQs that answer some of the most common questions about services and resources available in the Library.

The Ask A Librarian Guide provides information on the different ways to contact a Research Librarian:

  • Chat
  • E-Mail
  • Telephone
  • Scheduling a Research Consultation
    • Research Consultations provide you with a one-on-one consultation with a reference librarian. If you are a distance student we can set up a meeting with you via phone, Skype, or another method which works best for you.

Theresa Mastrodonato

Theresa Mastrodonato's picture
Theresa Mastrodonato
Contact:
Coordinator of Library Instruction for First Year Students/Reference Librarian
Lewis J. Ort Library - Room 321
Frostburg State University
1 Susan Eisel Drive
Frostburg, MD 21532
301-687-4425