Research Guides: ENGL 310 Research Guide: Databases

Database Resources

A lot of your research in ENGL 310 will come from the library databases. On this page below, you'll find:

Recommended Databases for ENGL 310
A Database Demonstration (video)

Recommended Databases

Databases available via Databases A-Z. Login required off the FSU campus.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers education topics from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains citations for articles from domestic and international journals, monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The FSU Library subscribes to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences IV, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences collections.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online) This link opens in a new window
More than 30,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works.
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts 480 plus journals, books, and anthologies published since 1940. Does not include book reviews.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of recent issues of 200 journals from 30 scholarly publishers. Search the full text of articles from the entire collection or, using the advanced search, from individual titles. Use the advanced search to search by date, by combining terms, to find book reviews and creative writing.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.
SocIndex with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included.

Basic EBSCOhost Searching

Forty of the 90 FSU Library research databases share the blue-green screen on the EBSCOhost platform.

Basic EBSCO database searching lets you search for items using your single keyword, but with options like limiters for full-text, academic journal articles, number of pages, date ranges, etc. This video shows you how it works: