Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogy Research Guide: Records

Records

Hello!  Scroll down or select the type of resource you need:

General

                                                

  • 1991 Frederick Co., MD, Genealogical Research Guide :: REF :: F187.F8R87
  • Abstracts from the South Branch Intelligencer (Hampshire, Mineral, and Hardy Co., WV): June 1837-Dec.1839 :: Specol, Stacks :: F247.H2H67
  • Afro-American Genealogy Sourcebook :: REF :: E185.96 Y67 1987
  • Age Search Information :: REF :: CS68.S54
  • Ancestry's Red BooK: American stae, Couny & Town Sources :: Ref. :: S49.A55 1991
  • American Passenger Arrival Records: A Guide to Records of Immigrants arriving at American Ports by Sail and Steam :: REF :: CS49.T46 1993
  • Archives of Maryland, 72v. :: SpecCol :: F176.A67
  • Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Employees: 1842, 1852, 1855, 1857 :: SpecCol :: HE2791.B3K36 1982
  • Bell Publishing Co 1893-94 (Directories of Local Towns) :: RBR :: F187.A4A18 1883
  • Bibliography of American County Histories :: REF :: E180 F54 1985
  • Bibliography of Ship Passenger Lists, 1538 - 1825 :: REF. :: JV6450.L3
  • Brown's Miscellaneous Writings Upon A Great Variety of Subjects :: SpecCol :: F187.G2B76
  • Burke's Genealogical and Heraldic History of the Landed Gentry American Families With British Ancestry :: REF :: CS45.B78 197520
  • Burke's Presidential Families of the United States of America :: REF :: CS69.B82
  • The Census  Book: A Genealogist's Guide to Federal Census Facts, Schedules, and Indexes :: REFf :: CS49.D65  2000
  • Cyndi's List: A Comprehensive List of 40,000 Genealogy Sites on the Internet :: REF :: CS21.H747 1999
  • DAR. Abstracts of Land Records From Deed Books, 1795-1806 :: SpecCol :: F187.A4D3
  • Directory Of American Libraries With Genealogy Or Local History Collections :: REF :: Z675 G44F56 1988
  • Directory Of Historical Societies and Agencies in The U.S. and Canada :: REF :: E172.A538
  • Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia :: REF :: F232 S5G57 1988
  • Four Centuries of Genealogy :: Mediatape :: CS16.F6
  • Frederick County MD Genealogical Research Guide, Revised :: REF :: F187 F8R87 1987 and 1991
  • Genealogical and Local History Books in Print :: REF :: CS47.G45 1996
  • Genealogical Research in MD: A Guide :: REF :: F180.M39 1992
  • Genealogy Online :: REF. ::CS21.C67 2000
  • Guide to Genealogical Research in National Archives :: REF :: CS68.U54 1982
  • Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Holdings in MD :: REF :: PN4897.M33M257 1991
  • Guide to the Microfilm Collection of Newspapers at the Maryland State Archives :: REF ::PN4731.A4555 1990
  • Guide to the Research Collections of the MD Historical Society :: REF :: F181 M39 1981
  • Historical, Biographical Sketch of Frostburg, MD and its Citizens, Old and New :: SpecCol, Stacks :: F189.F7M5
  • History of Hampshire Co, WV, From its Earliest Settlement to the Present :: SpecCol :: F247.H2M4
  • How to Research and Write Your Personal History :: Mediatape :: CS16.H34
  • In Search of Your British and Irish Roots :: REF :: CS414.B38 1987
  • In Search of Your European Roots :: REF :: CS403.B39 1985
  • In Search of Your German Roots :: REF :: CS614.B39 1987
  • Index of Source Records of MD, Genealogical, Biographical, Historical, 1940 :: SpeCol F181 P3:: Ref., SpeCol, Stacks: F181 P3 1967
  • Jewish Family Names and Their Origins: An Etymological Dictionary :: REF :: CS3010.G84 1992
  • MD and DC Gazetteer and Business Directory for 1899-1900-1901 :: SpecCol :: F179.M363
  • MD Biographical Sketch Index V.1. :: REF :: F180.A54 1983
  • MD Family Genealogies and Histories: A Bibliography :: SpecCol :: F180.V5
  • New Dictionary of American Family Names :: REF :: CS2481.S55 1973
  • Newspapers in Maryland Libraries :: REF :: PN4801.H64 1977
  • Newspapers in Microform 1948-1972 :: REF :: PN4855 L5 1973
  • Newspapers in Microform U.S. 1973-1977 :: REF :: PN4855 L5 1978
  • Oral History, Family History and Genealogy :: Mediatape :: CS16.S58
  • Pharmacy Account Record of a Local Drug Store :: RBR :: Uncataloged
  • Portrait and Biographical Record of the Sixth Congressional District :: RBR :: F187.A4P8 1898
  • Researching, Writing, and Documenting a Family History :: Mediatape :: CS16.H3
  • Ship Passenger Lists: the South, 1538-1825 :: Stacks :: CS68.B75
  • Ships of Our Ancestors :: REF :: VM38.A58 1993
  • Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy :: REF :: CS49.C65
  • Virtual  Roots: A Guide to Genealogy and Local History on the World Wide Web :: REF ::CS21.K46 1997
  • Writing of a Personal and Family History :: Mediatape :: CS16.S7
  • Washington County MD Genealogical Research Guide  :: REF :: F187.W3R87 1993

 

Back to top

Marriage, Death, and Allegany County

  • Allegany Co. MD ... Marriage Licenses, 1791-1873 :: SpecCol :: F187.A4A83

  • American Marriage Records Before 1699 :: REF :: CS68.C5 1967

  • County Courthouse Book :: REF :: KF8700 A19B46

  • Marriage Diary of Rev. William Shaw, Allegany Co., MD: Deacon of the Methodist Episcopal Church 1792-1813 :: SpecCol :: BX8481.C8S53 1967

  • Early Allegany Co. Records, 1787-1825 :: SpecCol :: F187.A4C84

  • Hampshire Co. Marriages of the 1800's :: SpecCol :: F247.H2H676 1994

  • Early Records, Hampshire Co., VA, Now WV :: SpecCol :: F247.H2S16 1969

  • Hampshire Co. Records, 1816-1923: VA/WV :: SpecCol :: F247.H2H677 1994

  • Marriages and Deaths from the MD Gazette, 1727-1839 :: SpecCol :: F180.B37

  • Marriages and Deaths from the Cumberland Alleganian, 5/16/1864- 5/1/1867 :: SpecCol :: F189.C9G38, F189.C9G38 1986

  • Marriages and Deaths From the Newspapers of Allegany and Washington Co., MD, 1820-1830 :: SpecCol  :: F180.W65

  • Marriages and Deaths, St. Mary's Co., MD, 1634-1900 :: SpecCol :: F187.S2F73 1982

  • Marriage Licenses of Frederick Co., 1778-1810 :: SpecCol :: F187.F8M99 1986

  • Maryland Marriages, 1634-1777 :: Stacks :: F180.B38, F180.B38 1975

  • Maryland Marriages, 1778-1800 :: Stacks :: F180.B383

  • Maryland Marriages, 1802-1820 :: Stacks :: F180.B384 1993

  • Where to Write for Vital Records :: REF :: CS42.7.W5

  • Wills and Administration of Accounts :: SpecCol :: F187.A4C86

Back to top

Church

 

  • Allegany Passage: Churches and Families, W. Marva Dis., Church of the Brethren, 1752-1990 :: SpecCol :: BX7820 W38B58 1990

  • Historic Records of Emmanuel Episcopal Church Cumberland, MD :: SpecCol :: F189.C9H57 1984

  • Lutheran Church Records, 1801-1921: From Allegany Co. Cumberland, MD, and Family Bible Records :: SpecCol :: BX8042.C8L9

  • Maryland German Church Records :: SpecCol :: F190.G3M38 1986

  • Washington Co. MD, Church records of the 18th Century :: SpecCol :: F187.W3W29 1988

Back to top

Census

 

  • 1776 Census of Maryland :: SpecCol :: F180.C355 1992

  • Allegany Co., US Census Population Schedules 1790 - 1930 :: Microfilm :: HA201[insert year].U53, ex. HA201 1900.u53

  • First Methodist Episcopal Church (Frostburg, MD) Church Register :: Microfilm :: BX8481.F7F722

  • Index to 1820 Census of MD and Washington, DC :: REF :: F182.P37 1985

  • John's Church, St. John's Parish Allegany Co. :: Microfilm :: BX5980.F7S345 (Reel 2)

  • St. Johns Episcopal Church (Frostburg, MD) :: Microfilm :: BX5980.F7S345 (Reel 1)

Back to top

Military

 

  • Family Tree Maker Roll of Honor: Civil War Union Soldiers :: Media Software :: E494.R65 1996

  • History and Roster of MD Volunteers, War of 1861-65, 2v. :: SpecCol :: E512.3.W55 1987

  • Index to the Roster of the MD Volunteers, 1861-1865 :: SpecCol :: e512.3.w522 1986

  • Index to U.S. Invalid Pension Records, 1801-1815 :: SpecCol :: CS8. C484 1991

  • Known Military Dead During the War of 1812 :: SpecCol :: E359.4.P48 1995

  • Maryland and D.C. Volunteers in the Mexican War :: SpecCol :: E409.7.W45 1991

  • Maryland Militia In the Revolutionary War :: SpecCol :: E263.M3C56 1987

  • Maryland War Records Commission. Maryland in the World War, 1917-1919 :: RBR :: D570.85 M3A4

  • Military Lots, 1-2475. Title Written in Ink on Front Cover :: RBR :: MSS
  • US Military Records:Guide to Federal and State Sources: Colonial America to the Present :: REF :: E181.N43 1994

  • WV Revolutionary Ancestors: Whose Services were Non-Military and Whose Names Do Not Appear in Revolutionary Indexes of Soldiers and Sailors :: Stacks :: F240.R31 1995

  • Western Maryland/Pennsylvania/Virginia Militia in Defense of MD, 1805-1815 :: SpecCol  :: E359.M2H85 1983

  • Westward of Fort Cumberland: Military Lots Set Off for Maryland's Revolutionary Soldiers: with an Appended List of Rev. Soldiers Granted Pensions by the State of MD :: SpecCol :: F187.A4M468 1993

Back to top

Cemetery

 Photo by Flickr User: Catskills Grrl

  • Allegany County MD, Rural Cemeteries :: SpecCol, Stacks :: F187.A4A4313

  • Cemeteries of Martinsburg and Berkeley Co., WV :: SpecCol :: F240.B4

  • Commemorating Frostburg's Percy Cemetery: A Restoration and Research :: SpecCol :: F189.F7C76 1995, F187.F7C762 2000

  • Directory of Maryland Burial Grounds :: REF :: F179.3.D57 1996

  • Hampshire County Death Records (1866-1922) :: SpecCol :: F247.H2H674 1993

  • Feldstein's Gone but Not Forgotten: A Biographical Graveside Tribute to Historic Allegany Co. Figures and Personages from the Past :: SpecCol, Stacks :: F187.A4F42 2v.

  • Maryland's Garret County Graves :: SpecCol :: F187.G2M37 1987, F187.G2M42 1995

  • Rose Hill Cemetery, Cumberland, MD: An Inventory :: SpecCol :: F189.C8G45 1995

  • Springfield District Cemeteries of Hampshire County, WV :: SpecCol :: F247. H2H678 1993

  • Washington County, MD Cemetery Records :: SpecCol :: F187. W3W28 1982

Back to top

Subject Guide

Yelizaveta Zakharova's picture
Yelizaveta Zakharova
Contact:
301-687-4889