Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Online Encyclopedias
Search online versions of more than 300 specialized encyclopedias that the library owns!
(off-campus login required)
Practice Boolean Search Strategies
Combining keywords in databases using the Boolean operators AND,OR, NOT yields great search results!
Print and Microform Sources in the Library
The Ort Library has print guides, bibliographies, reference books, and primary sources in various formats, including microfilm, for you to explore! Some resources are highlighted here. Books marked as being in the Stacks (see call number) are the ones you can check out.
Other Library Resources - Guides and Bibliographies
Primary Sources on Microfilm and Microfiche
Microfilm (reels) and microfiche (flat sheets) are "micro-reproductions" of documents for archival storage, reading, and printing. These formats are located on Floor 2 of the Ort Library. The reference and media staff can help you with the special equipment needed to view and print microfilm and microfiche. Besides those listed belowm there are several historical newspapers in the library microfilm collection, some going back to the 1700's.
Baltimore Afro-American, 1910-1988
Microfilm: 1910-1988 issues of the National Edition of the Baltimore Afro-American, the longest-running African-American family-owned newspaper in the United States.
New York Times (1851-present)
Microfilm: The complete issues of the New York Times going back to the very first issue in 1851; there are print indexes that help you look up specific articles and issues by keyword.
Library of American Civilization
Ultra-Microfiche: The Library of American Civilization, consisting of almost ten thousand records, chronicles the history of the United States from a firsthand point-of-view. Call Number Location on Floor 2: Media Micro3 | E169.1 .L5
Included in this collection are biographies, fiction, letters, texts of public addresses, humor, songs, essays, guide books and countless other topics regarding life in America from colonial times up to World War I.
For a list of history journals, look under the Databases tab, or click here.
Special Collections (A good place for primary resources in the library!):
- House rare and unique items
- Maintain materials related to FSU, Western MD and contiguous counties in PA and WV
- Assist with local history questions
- Assist with genealogical research