Skip to main content

Resources for Distance Students: Finding Resources

This guide provides information about the resources and services that the Lewis J. Ort Library provides for those students who attend classes at a distance.

Resources available in the Library

The Lewis J. Ort Library provides students, faculty, and staff access to many different types of resources including:

  • scholarly/peer-reviewed journals
  • print books
  • e-books
  • newspapers
  • popular magazines
  • online encyclopedias (Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  • dissertations and theses
  • conference proceedings

OneSearch and Other Search Options

On the library's home page, you will see several tabs which will allow you to access different resources.

  • Articles, Books, & More - this is the OneSearch tab. It provides options to search by keyword, title, or author. You can also narrow down by full-text and scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.
  • Catalog - this tab provides you with the ability to just search the library catalog for resources (print books, e-books, DVDs, government documents, etc.)  in the Ort Library. You can also search for resources in the entire USMAI system for resources.
  • E-books - this tab provides you the option to just search for e-books that the library has access to. E-books are available 24/7 and there is no need to remember to return the book when you are done.
  • A-Z Databases - this tab provides you with a list of subject specific databases. Click on the tab to access these databases.
  • A-Z Journals - this tab provides you with the ability see what journals the library has available full-text electronically. Once you find a specific journal, it will also provide information on which database it is available in and the date ranges for full-text availability.

Subject Specific Databases

OneSearch provides you with the option to search the library catalog and most of the library's databases at once. The library also provides access to Subject Specific Databases that may help you to narrow your search down.

For example, when searching in OneSearch on a specific topic like education, you will get results that will also cover history, philosophy, and science. In order narrow down your results to just education, you could use the subject specific database Education Research Complete. This database provides access to results that are specific to the subject of Education.

If I were looking for Psychology information, I might try the subject specific databases PsycArticles or Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.

To access Subject Specific Databases you need to go to the A-Z List of Databases. From that list you can select the Dropdown All Subjects and then select the the subject you want to research. Once you select a subject it will provide you with a list of Subject Specific Databases. The link is: http://libguides.frostburg.edu/databaselist

For example, I want to find Computer Science databases so I would select the Dropdown for Computer Science.

I then have a list of Computer Science databases. I can select the database I want to search.

You can also select the first letter of the database that you want to access and it will bring up a list of databases that begin with that letter. For example, you could select the letter G to see the databases that fall under that letter.

Where do I Start?

A great place to start your research is with OneSearch. OneSearch is the library's all-in-one search tool that allows you to search the library catalog and most of the library's databases all from one convenient search box.

Go to the Handouts Tab for more information on how to access different resources.

OneSearch

Search for library books, articles from library databases, and more ... simultaneously from one box!

 
OneSearch: Articles, Books & More
 

Print Resources

As distance students, the Ort Library understands that not all resources that you might need for your research are going to be available in electronic form. So, if you find a print item in the Ort Library you can have that item sent to you at or you can have it sent to another USMAI library in order to pick it up. If you find a print book at another campus, you can have it sent to FSU for you to pick up in person or have that item sent to you.

** Note: If you order an item and want it sent to you, you will need to contact the Circulation Desk so that they can make sure they have your correct address. You are also responsible for the book from the time it leaves the Ort Library until it is returned to the Ort Library.

Access Databases Remotely

Library database access and other remote library services requires login off campus with your 14-digit barcode number printed on front of your ID card.

If you don't have an FSU ID card ... You can also obtain your barcode number from your PAWS account: Go to Self-Service, click on Student Center, and scroll down to Other Areas to obtain your library barcode information.

Access or Library Account Questions? Call the Ort Library Circulation Desk at 301-687-4395.

Search Google Scholar!

Google Scholar provides the option to search for scholarly articles utilizing the search engine of Google. However, using Google Scholar provides you with the opportunity to find only scholarly/peer-reviewed articles available out on the web.

You can set up Google Scholar to link items found through that search to items available in the Ort Library. Please see the "Make Google Scholar Work for You" below.