This is the "Home" page of the "Dr. David M. Gillespie Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dr. David M. Gillespie Special Collections  

This Library Dept. houses materials about the region's history, geology, social and cultural events, and people as well as the history of Frostburg State University. Material written by students, staff, faculty, and area residents are also housed here.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page


Welcome to the FSU Ort Library Dr. David M. Gillespie Special Collections Guide. This LibGuide connects you to a wide variety of materials to aid you in researching regional history, genealogy and history of Frostburg State Universtiy. 

If you plan a visit to the Dr. David M. Gillespie Special Collections and the Rare Book Room, please call 301 687-4889 or email for an appointment. 

Your visit is important and this will ensure that we can provide the best service to you.         

E-mail Reference Help

This is our email reference service.


Ask a Librarian 24/7!!

Want to chat with a librarian? Type in your question and click Send. 

Services and Instruction

  • House rare and unique items
  • Maintain materals related to Frostburg State University, Western Maryland and contiguous counties in Pennsylvania and West Virginia

  • Assist with local history questions
  • Assist with genealogical research.  Please refer to our Obituary Copy Policy for more details, including the cost of the service.


The instruction team can provide training sessions for entire classes in the Library's Instruction Center. Instruction specific to  Special Collections is held in the Special Collections Room and taught by the Special Collections librarian.  Refer to the information literacy page for details about instruction, student learning goals, and assessment. Faculty should fill out the online library instruction request form, or call x4888 to schedule a class. Times fill up quickly, so it is recommended you make arrangements early in the semester.



    The history of the area is steeped in coal and coal mining.  Lumbering, railroads, Chesapeake & Ohio Canal, and economic growth found its beginning in the first lump of coal dug from a farmer's field in the late 1700s.


    Dr. David M. Gillespie Special Collections Librarian

    MaryJo A. Price

    Contact Info
    Lewis J. Ort Library
    Room 411
    Frostburg State Universtiy 
    1 Susuan Eisel Drive
    Frostburg, MD 21532

    Subjects: Geography, Chemistry, Music, Nursing, and Genealogy.


    Loading  Loading...