Research Guides: Physician Assistant Studies Library Orientation & Research Guide: Getting Started

Orientation and Research

This Research Guide is designed to provide orientation and research help for the Physician Assistant program.

This guide covers:

Key database resources
Finding online research articles, case studies and academic journals through the FSU Ort Library
Requesting research resources not available in the library
Professional association websites
Citation and academic integrity
Getting research help

Key Database Resources

Key Subject Databases

To access databases off campus, log in when prompted with your FSU email/password.

AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical reference resource.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Complete is a comprehensive database offering access to 717 active full-text journals spanning various disciplines in nursing, allied health, along with evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more. Literature available includes nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
Google Scholar - Connected to FSU Ort Library
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources such as articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. Use this link to search Google Scholar to connect to full text resources subscribed to by the Ort Library.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This full-text database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics from consumer health magazines and reference materials. Subjects Include: fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, and children's health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database created by the National Library of Medicine containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers. It contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Covers nursing and other allied health subjects such as nutrition, physical therapy, public health, and alternative and complementary medicine. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations.
PubMed
Includes more than 39 million citations from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
UpToDate - Account Creation Required - Click to Create or Reverify Your Account
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource used by healthcare practitioners to help them make informed decisions at the point of care.
Web of Science
Provides indexing and abstracts gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research from Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The citation indexes contain the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index.

A-Z Database List

A-Z Databases List
Access to all databases provided by Ort Library.

Physician Assistant Studies Library Orientation & Research Guide

Chat with a Librarian!

Subject Librarian

Orientation and Research

Orientation and Research

Key Database Resources

Key Subject Databases

A-Z Database List