Research Guides: Physician Assistant Studies Library Orientation & Research Guide: Getting Started

Orientation and Research

This Research Guide is designed to provide orientation and research help for the Physician Assistant program.

This guide covers:

Key database resources
Finding online research articles, case studies and academic journals through the FSU Ort Library
Requesting research resources not available in the library
Professional association websites
Citation and academic integrity
Getting research help

Key Database Resources

Key Subject Databases

To access databases off campus, log in when prompted with your FSU email/password.

AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical reference resource.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides indexing for more than 4,300 journals with over 760 titles in full text. Journal coverage is from 1981 to the present. Also includes the full text of selected books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
Google Scholar - Connected to FSU Ort Library
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources such as articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. Use this link to search Google Scholar to connect to full text resources subscribed to by the Ort Library.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Large range of consumer health information/topics. Full text of nearly 300 periodicals such as: Harvard Health Letter, Prevention, Tufts, Johns Hopkins, Vegetarian Times, Women's health Weekly. Also includes a wide range of full text health related pamphlets and reference books, patient education fact sheets from sources such as: People's Medical Society, A.D.A.M., A.A.R.P and Society Publications
Health Source: Nursing
Nearly 600 Scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health, 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles about 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted. Includes full text from titles such as: Ceative Nursing, Issues in :Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Jouranl of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitions; CLinical Pharmacology
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Covers nursing and other allied health subjects such as nutrition, physical therapy, public health, and alternative and complementary medicine. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, or library databases.
UpToDate - Account Creation Required - Click to Create or Reverify Your Account
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource used by healthcare practitioners to help them make informed decisions at the point of care.
Web of Science
Provides indexing and abstracts gathered from thousands of scholarly journals in all areas of research from Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The citation indexes contain the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index.

A-Z Database List

A-Z Databases List
Access to all databases provided by Ort Library.

Physician Assistant Studies Library Orientation & Research Guide

Chat with a Librarian!

Subject Librarian

Orientation and Research

Orientation and Research

Key Database Resources

Key Subject Databases

A-Z Database List