Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
J. Glenn Beall Archives
The J. Glenn Beall Archives at Frostburg State University are located on the fourth floor of the Lewis J. Ort Library. The archives are the repository for four major collections. All materials are non-circulating. In 2001, Senator J. Glenn Beall Jr. and his mother, Margaret Beall, endowed the archives with a gift of $100,000. The facility was constructed in 2001, using an existing area of the Lewis J. Ort Library, and consists of a research room, processing room, and storage area. The archives dedication ceremony was held in October of 2002.
Contact the Archives
Access to the Archives is by appointment, Monday - Friday.
Archivist: Liza Zakharova
Mailing Address: Beall Archives,
Lewis J. Ort Library,
Frostburg State University,
Frostburg, MD 21532
Major Collections in the Archives
- The Beall Collection: Comprised of the public and private papers of U.S. Senator J. Glenn Beall, Jr. (R-MD, 1971-1977) and the private papers of his father, J. Glenn Beall (R-MD, 1953-1965).
- The Meyers Collection: Comprised of materials related to George A. Meyers, former labor secretary of the Communist Party of the United States.
- The Perlo Collection: Comprises books, pamphlets, manuscript material, correspondence, photographs, and personal and family memorabilia of economist Victor Perlo, longtime member of the governing National Committee of the Communist Party of the USA.
- The Feldstein Collection: Comprised of presidential and social movement memorabilia including over 1800 presidential election buttons, 180 posters, newspaper front pages, magazines, yard signs, tee-shirts and other types of memorabilia.