Skip to main content

Knowledge Organization and Metadata Services: Home

Outlines the mission and responsibilities of the department and provides access to the tools used to accomplish this work.

Search the Library Catalog!

Catalog Keyword Search

Search the catalog for books, serials, media, visual materials, e-books and archival materials located in the Ort Library. 

To search for articles, use OneSearch or the A-Z Database list.

Search First Search (OCLC public interface)

Mission

Knowledge Organization and Metadata Services Department describes and organizes the resources provided by the Lewis J. Ort Library; maintains the accuracy of the data found in the Library catalog; and preserves the tangible library collections to the extent that our resources allow. 

Primary responsibilities

Describes and organizes the resources provided by the Lewis J. Ort Library:

  • Catalogs all formats of newly arrived resources efficiently and accurately, following current international standards and practices;
  • Performs subject analysis of resources by reviewing and applying Library of Congress Subject Headings and related controlled thesaurus entries;
  • Assigns classification (or call number) based upon the subject analysis, using the Library of Congress Classification schedule, accession number or internal classification schedule;
  • Codes library database appropriately to allow searching, identification, and retrieval of library resources
  • Re-catalogs retrospective resources to provide or improve access;

Maintains the accuracy of the data found in the Library catalog:

  • Performs analysis of library data for the purpose of library database maintenance;
  • Maintains the bibliographic, holdings and item information in the library catalog;
  • Improves quality of OCLC bibliographic records of resources owned by the Library;
  • Maintains accurate holdings in OCLC for international access to Library materials through Interlibrary loan;

Preserves the tangible library collections to the extent that our resources allow:

  • Prepares newly cataloged resources for use by: protecting the covers, identifying ownership and adhering location labels to items:
  • Protects unique or fragile items using archival methods within our means;
  • Oversees the bindery process for monograph and serial titles;
  • Assists the Special Collections/Archivist Librarian with preservation projects.

Virginia Williams

Virginia Williams's picture
Virginia Williams
Contact:
Lewis J. Ort Library
1 Susan Eisel Drive
Frostburg State University
Frostburg, MD 21532
301-687-4884

Metadata Creation

"That is what is so great about metadata creation. It's a puzzle, it's research, it's creative and it helps others find these great resources. That's why I love it so." -- December 6, 2019